Built in 1912 on behalf of a perfume manufacturer from Cologne, the hotel on the Petersberg offers a breathtaking view of the Siebengebirge and the Rhine Valley, 1997.

Grandhotel Petersberg

Official government guest house
since 1954

The Allied High Commissioners were headquartered in this luxury hotel on Mt. Petersberg from 1949 to 1952. Since 1954, the hotel has been the German government’s guest house for state visits.

The hotel offers historical tours in German.

Hotel Steigenberger - Event Calendar (German)

On 24 May 1949, the Federal Republic of Germany’s Basic Law came into effect. In September of that same year, the Bundestag and Parliamentary Council moved into the Bundeshaus and Chancellor Konrad Adenauer formed the Federal Republic’s first government; on 12 September 1949, the Federal Assembly elected a Federal President as head of state.

However, the Allied Occupation, which began upon the defeat of the Nazi regime by the Allies in 1945, wasn’t over yet, given that in September 1949, the Allied High Commission commandeered the luxurious Hotel Petersberg, located on one of the Siebengebirge mountains, as its headquarters. British Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain stayed in this very same hotel in 1938 in the lead-up to his meeting with Hitler, which resulted in the Munich Agreement. The fact that the Allies chose to locate their headquarters on a mountaintop sent a clear signal that in Germany, the Allied Commission was in charge.

Black and white photograph of Konrad Adenauer's inaugural visit to the Allied High Commission at Petersberg Hotel.
On 21 September 1949, Chancellor Konrad Adenauer's inaugural visit to the Allied High Commission took place at Petersberg Hotel.

The Commission oversaw the Occupation Statute, which the victorious Allies adopted in April 1949 and promulgated on 10 May of that year. The Statute stated as follows: “During the period in which it is necessary that the occupation continue, the Governments of France, the United States and the United Kingdom desire and intend that the German people shall enjoy self-government to the maximum possible degree consistent with such occupation. The Federal State and the participating Länder shall have, subject only to these limitations, full legislative executive and judicial powers in accordance with the Basic Law and with their respective constitutions”. That meant that in effect, the Federal Republic enjoyed national sovereignty to a limited degree only. The occupation authorities made all decisions concerning Germany’s foreign policy, foreign trade, currency transactions, reparations and demilitarisation. They also reserved the right “acting under instructions of their Governments, to resume, in whole or in part, the exercise of full authority if they consider that to do so is essential to security or to preserve democratic government in Germany or in pursuance of the international obligations of their Governments.”

The Petersberg Hotel on top of the the densely wooded mountain St. Petersberg, under a blue sky.
The Grandhotel sits on top of the mountain St. Petersberg. Not only is the location idyllic, it also facilites safety precautions for international conferences, 2009.

Chancellor Konrad Adenauer was feeling very self-confident on the occasion of his first visit to the occupation authority headquarters on 21 September 1949, given that, prior to the meeting, he had managed to persuade Allied High Commissioners John J. McCloy, Brian Robertson and André François-Poncet to treat the hand-over of the Occupation Statute as a less momentous occasion than originally planned. “The High Commissioners,” Adenauer wrote in his memoirs, “had originally intended to receive me while standing on a carpet in front of which I would be standing” – the idea being that Adenauer would not step on the carpet until he had given a speech.

Adenauer refused to go along with this, however. During the introductory remarks, he stepped on the carpet and afterwards gave his speech there. And then something almost went astray between the speeches and a glass of sparkling wine. “When [German diplomat and Adenauer spokesman Herbert] Blankenhorn (who was with me) and I put on our coats in the cloak room, an official from the Allied High Commission came up to Blankenhorn and handed him a book wrapped in wrapping paper.” Or at least this is how Adenauer described the scene. According to Adenauer, when Mr. Blankenhorn unwrapped the book, it turned out to be the Occupation Statute – but “unsigned.”

CPSU General Secretary Leonid Brezhnev in front of a black limousine, behind him the entrance of the Petersberg Hotel.
On the occasion of his state visit, CPSU Secretary General Leonid Brezhnev was received in the Petersberg Hotel, 1973.

Far from being self-serving, this little anecdote is in fact true. Adenauer, who had acquired international-policy acumen during his 16 year tenure as Lord Mayor of Cologne (1917–1933), managed to wrest additional, legally binding concessions from the Commissioners. The Petersberg Agreement, which was signed on 22 November 1949, took some of the sting out of the Occupation Statute and ushered in the process of Germany’s integration into the community of Western nations. The Statute was officially repealed by the General Treaty of 26 May 1952, which came into effect after the Bonn-Paris conventions of 1955 had been ratified. After this, the Federal Republic of Germany was by and large a sovereign nation, joined NATO and the (now defunct) Western European (WEU), and was even allowed to rearm.

In 1952, upon promulgation of the General Treaty, the Allied High Commissioners withdrew from Germany and the Grand Hotel reopened two years later. The German government used it as a guest house for state guests, albeit intermittently. Regular hotel operations were discontinued in 1969, and thereafter only one official guest, the Soviet head of state Leonid Brezhnev, actually stayed there in 1973.

International representatives at a round table in the Petersberg Hotel.
The first Afghanistan Conference took place from 27 November to 5 December 2001 at Petersberg Hotel, 5 December 2001.

After purchasing the hotel in the late 1970s, the federal government extensively refurbished the building, a project completed in 1990. The edifice, which dates from 1892, had been enlarged and transformed into a spa hotel by Mülhens 4711 owner Ferdinand Mülhens prior to World War II. The building was used for official state guests in the 1990s – although as a hotel of the Steigenberg chain of hotels, it also attracted private guests. The hotel still officially functions as the Guest House of the Constitutional Bodies of the Federal Republic of Germany in tandem with its normal operations: the road leading to Mt. Petersberg can be sealed off at very short notice, as was done for the 2001 and 2011 Afghanistan conferences.

Did you know ...

... that the elaborately bound edition of the Occupation Statute that was produced for the ceremony at Grandhotel Petersberg was printed by the Bonn printing company JF. Carthaus?

1912 im Auftrag eines Kölner Duftwasserherstellers erbaut, bietet das Hotel auf dem Petersberg einen atemberaubenden Blick auf das Siebengebirge und das Rheintal, 1997.

Grandhotel Petersberg

Gästehaus der Bundesregierung
seit 1954

Im Luxushotel auf dem Petersberg haben die Alliierten Hohen Kommissare von 1949 bis 1952 ihren Sitz. Seit 1954 nutzt die Bundesregierung das Gebäude als Gästehaus bei Staatsbesuchen.

Das Hotel Steigenberger bietet historische Hausführungen an.

Hotel Steigenberger - Veranstaltungskalender

Am 24. Mai 1949 tritt das Grundgesetz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Kraft. Ins Bundeshaus ziehen im September Bundestag und Bundesrat ein, Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer hat eine erste Regierung gebildet, und mit der Wahl der Bundesversammlung am 12. September 1949 gibt es auch einen Bundespräsidenten als Staatsoberhaupt.

Aber die Besatzungszeit, die mit der Zerschlagung des Hitler-Regimes durch die Alliierten 1945 beginnt, ist noch nicht vorbei: Im luxuriösen Hotel Petersberg auf den Hügeln des Siebengebirges sitzt seit September 1949 die Alliierte Hohe Kommission. Es ist dasselbe Hotel, in dem der britische Premierminister Neville Chamberlain im Vorfeld des Münchner Abkommens 1938 untergebracht ist, um Hitler in Godesberg zu treffen. Die Ortswahl auf einem Hügel unterstreicht, wer bis auf Weiteres das Sagen im Land hat: die Kommission der Alliierten.

Schwarzweiß-Fotografie des Antrittsbesuchs von Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer in den Räumlichkeiten des Hotels auf dem Petersberg
Am 21. September 1949 findet der Antrittsbesuch von Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer bei der Allierten Hohen Kommission im Hotel auf dem Petersberg statt.

Sie überwacht das „Besatzungsstatut“, das die drei westlichen Siegermächte im April 1949 beschließen und am 10. Mai verkünden. Ihm zufolge haben Bund und Länder des neuen westdeutschen Staates zwar „volle gesetzgebende, vollziehende und rechtsprechende Gewalt gemäß dem Grundgesetz und den Länderverfassungen“. Aber sie sind „den Beschränkungen dieses Statuts unterworfen“. Das bedeutet: Die Bundesrepublik ist nur bedingt souverän. Die Besatzungsmächte bestimmen in den Bereichen Außenpolitik, Außenhandel, Devisenverkehr, Reparationen und Entmilitarisierung. Sie behalten sich auch vor, „die Ausübung der vollen Gewalt ganz oder teilweise wieder zu übernehmen, wenn sie dies für die Sicherheit oder zur Aufrechterhaltung der demokratischen Ordnung in Deutschland als notwendig erachten, oder um den internationalen Verpflichtungen ihrer Regierungen nachzukommen.“

Vom linken Ufer des Rheins aus blickt man auf den dicht bewaldeten Petersberg auf dem in der Ferne das Gästehaus Petersberg thront.
Hoch oben auf dem Petersberg liegt das Gästehaus. Die Lage ist nicht nur idyllisch, sie erleichtert auch Sicherheitsvorkehrungen für internationale Treffen, 2009.

Umso selbstbewusster tritt Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer auf, als er am 21. September 1949 zum Antrittsbesuch auf den Petersberg fährt. Schon im Vorfeld hat er die Hohen Kommissare John J. McCloy, Brian Robertson und André François-Poncet dazu gebracht, die Übergabe des „Besatzungsstatuts“ in kleinerem Rahmen zu begehen als ursprünglich geplant. „Es sollte dem Akt aber dadurch ein zeremonieller Charakter gegeben werden, daß die Hohen Kommissare mich empfangen würden, indem sie auf einem Teppich stünden, während ich vor diesem stehen sollte.“ Der Kanzler soll den Teppich erst nach einer Ansprache betreten.

Konrad Adenauer hält sich nicht dran. Schon zur Begrüßung macht er einen Schritt auf den Teppich, hält dort auch die Rede. Und dann geht zwischen den Ansprachen und einem Glas Sekt noch beinahe etwas verloren. „Als Blankenhorn, der mich begleitete, und ich in der Garderobe unsere Mäntel anzogen, trat ein Beamter der Hohen Kommission an Blankenhorn heran und übergab ihm ein in Packpapier eingehülltes Buch.“ So beschreibt zumindest Adenauer später die Szene. Das Buch, das sein Referent Herbert Blankenhorn im Auto vom Papier befreit, sei das „Besatzungsstatut“ gewesen, und zwar „nicht unterzeichnet.“

Anläßlich seines Staatsbesuchs hält KPdSU-Generalsekretär Leonid Breschnew am 21. Mai 1973 beim Empfang auf dem Petersberg eine Tischrede, 1973.

Eine wärmende Anekdote? Nein, eine sehr treffende. Adenauer, der das internationale Geschäft als Oberbürgermeister von Köln zwischen 1917 und 1933 erlernt hat, ringt den Kommissaren nämlich auch auf dem Papier neue Freiheiten ab. Das am 22. November 1949 unterzeichnete „Petersberger Abkommen“ relativiert das „Besatzungsstatut“ und leitet die Eingliederung Deutschlands in die westliche Staatengemeinschaft ein. Aufgehoben wird das Statut schließlich durch den „Deutschlandvertrag“ vom 26. Mai 1952, der auf dem Umweg über die „Pariser Verträge“ 1955 in Kraft tritt. Seither ist die Bundesrepublik Deutschland weitgehend souverän. Sie tritt der Westeuropäischen Union und der NATO bei und darf sogar eine eigene Armee aufbauen.

Die drei Alliierten Hohen Kommissare ziehen sich nach der Verabschiedung des „Deutschlandvertrags“ 1952 vom Petersberg zurück. Im April 1954 kann das Grandhotel wieder eröffnen. Die Bundesregierung nutzt es als Gästehaus für Staatsgäste – wenn auch mit Unterbrechung: Der reguläre Hotelbetrieb wird 1969 aufgegeben und danach ausnahmsweise nur noch ein Staatsgast, das sowjetische Staatsoberhaupt Leonid Breschnew 1973, untergebracht.

Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der internationalen Staatengemeinschaft an einem runden Tisch auf der Afghanistan-Konferenz am 2. Dezember 2002 im Hotel Petersberg
Die erste Afghanistan-Konferenz findet vom 27. November bis zum 5. Dezember 2001 auf dem Petersberg statt, 5. Dezember 2001.

Ende der 1970er Jahre kauft der Bund das Hotel. Er lässt das Gebäude, das ursprünglich aus dem Jahr 1892 stammt und von 4711-Besitzer Ferdinand Mülhens vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg zu einem Kurhotel erweitert wurde, bis 1990 aufwändig umbauen. In den neunziger Jahren steht es wieder Staatsgästen zur Verfügung, es zieht aber als Hotel der Steigenberger-Kette auch Privatleute an. Bis heute ist es parallel zum normalen Geschäftsbetrieb „Gästehaus der Verfassungsorgane der Bundesrepublik Deutschland“, schon weil sich die gewundene Zufahrtsstraße auf den Petersberg im Handumdrehen verriegeln lässt wie etwa während der Afghanistan-Konferenzen 2001 und 2011.

Wussten Sie schon ...

… dass die aufwändig gebundene Ausgabe des Besatzungsstatuts für die Zeremonie im Grandhotel Petersberg von der Bonner Druckerei JF. Carthaus gefertigt wird?