The Palais Schaumburg’s modern canopy was not at all to the liking of Chancellor Adenauer, as it reminded him of a petrol station (2006).
Among the members of Willy Brandt’s first cabinet were Minister of Finance and the Economy Helmut Schmidt (front left) and Interior Minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher (front right). The photo was taken on 7 November 1972.

Palais Schaumburg

Official seat of the German Federal Chancellery
1949–1977

From 1949 to 1977, Bonn’s Palais Schaumburg housed the Chancellery of the Federal Republic of Germany, which served as the government headquarters for all German Chancellors from Konrad Adenauer to Helmut Schmidt. Since the government relocated to Berlin in 2001, it has been used as a secondary official seat for the Chancellor.

Owing to renovation work, the Palais is currently closed to visitors. You can nevertheless view it using our online panorama.

Virtual Tour

A “kaiser tree” (in German: Kaiserbaum) of all things is supposed to be a reference to Chancellor Konrad Adenauer, when, in 1978, Chancellor Helmut Schmidt inaugurated the tradition of planting “Chancellor trees” on the grounds of Palais Schaumburg. Schmidt himself opted for weeping willow.

Black and white photography, Konrad Adenauer sits at his desk and looks into the camera.
Chancellor Adenauer at his desk in Palais Schaumburg. The photo was taken on 8 February 1960.

So is a “kaiser tree” a good fit for Adenauer? Actually, it is. There’s one in just about every garden that was important to him. And it is precisely this type of tree – named as it is after the daughter of a tsar, and the favourite tree of Austrian Emperor Franz Josef – that evokes the building that was the official residence of all Federal Chancellors from 1949 to 1977: Palais Schaumburg (1858), a neo-classical-style villa that was built by a fabric magnate.

Viktoria von Preußen, Kaiser Wilhelm II’s younger sister, who was married to Prince Adolf of Schaumburg-Lippe, moved into the villa in 1894. She brought courtly splendour to the place, where the Kaiser stayed a number of times in what later became the cabinet room of the Federal Chancellor. Scandal was no stranger to Viktoria either: upon after Prince Adolf died, she got married again – but this time to a con man, and ended up impoverished. The German Reich bought the building, and in 1945 members of the British and Belgian occupation forces moved in.

When, in 1949, the Federal Republic was founded, the Palais Schaumberg was repurposed.

Study with desk and wooden furniture, a red woven carpet and large bay windows.
In 1983, Chancellor Helmut Kohl invited members of the press to view the renovated study of former Chancellor Konrad Adenauer. The photo was taken in 2005.

Konrad Adenauer, who had been elected as the Federal Republic’s first Chancellor in September, wanted to move out of the provisionally furnished Chancellery Room at Zoologisches Museum Alexander Koenig as soon as possible. As early as October, he began making preparations for the moment when the Belgian troops would vacate Palais Schaumburg, and on 23 November he moved in.

At this juncture, tradesmen were beginning work on the building. At first, the tone of the correspondence between Adenauer and his architect Hans Schwippert was amicable: “Dear Dr. Professor Schwippert”, Adenauer wrote on 2 December 1949, “I would be greatly appreciative if the remodelling at Villa Schaumburg could be expedited to the greatest possible extent. In their current state, the villa’s rooms are not at all suitable for use as offices.”

But then, both sides took a different tone. For one thing, Adenauer soon found the white walls too bright, the chairs too green, the desk too low and the bathtub too small. And then there was the new modern staircase – and a new canopy that looked like a petrol station. Schwippert apparently tried to get rid of the antique furniture that Adenauer had purchased, too. But at least on the interior design front, Adenauer ultimately prevailed. 

During his tenure as Chancellor, Adenauer also made good use of the places at and aspects of Palais Schaumburg that were conducive to peace and tranquillity: the private rooms, to which he withdrew to rest for lunch (and for which he paid a small rent); the grounds, where he took strolls with advisors such as State Secretary Hans Globke; the quick commute to his home in Rhöndorf, in a chauffeured Mercedes limousine, and via the Rhine ferry.

Konrad Adenauer and Charles de Gaulle in suits, standing in Adenauer's study and shaking hands.
Chancellor Konrad Adenauer (right) greeting French President Charles de Gaulle at Palais Schaumburg on 4 July 1963. Two years earlier, Adenauer already stated that in his opinion, reconciliation with France was possible.

With the passing years and the succession of Chancellors – Adenauer, Erhard, Kiesinger, Brandt and Schmidt – space was increasingly at a premium, and two additions didn’t do much to ameliorate the situation. It was not until 1969 that a new building was commissioned for construction in the area between Palais Schaumburg and the Bundeshaus. The building was completed in 1976. 

But the paucity of space at Palais Schaumburg was also part of its charm. “For all its imperfections, I was always fond of Palais Schaumburg,” wrote Klaus Harpprecht, who was Willy Brandt’s speechwriter and who worked out of Palais Schaumburg’s small tower room. “A blithe potpourri of Biedermeier and Victorian elements, somewhat bizarre – but altogether likeable, like so much that is not stylistically pure. (...) Creaking floor boards under the carpets. Kind of like the White House”.

Did you know...

…that Palais Schaumburg continued in use following the inauguration of the new Chancellery in 1977? Chancellor Helmut Kohl signed a number of treaties at Palais Schaumburg. And Gerhard Schröder lived in the villa for much of 1998. Palais Schaumburg is still the secondary office of the Federal Chancellor.

Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer findet keinen Gefallen an dem modernen Vordach des Palais Schaumburg. Ihn erinnert es an eine Tankstelle, 2006.
Zum ersten Kabinett von Bundeskanzler Willy Brandt gehören Helmut Schmidt als Finanz- und Wirtschaftsminister (vorne links) und Hans-Dietrich Genscher als Innenminister (vorne rechts), 7. November 1972.

Palais Schaumburg

Kanzleramtssitz
1949–1977

Im Palais Schaumburg befindet sich von 1949 bis 1977 das Kanzleramt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – die Regierungszentrale aller deutschen Bundeskanzler von Konrad Adenauer bis Helmut Schmidt. Nach dem Regierungsumzug nach Berlin ist es seit 2001 der zweite Dienstsitz der Bundeskanzlerin.

Das Palais Schaumburg ist aktuell wegen Renovierung geschlossen, kann aber online mit einem virtuellen Rundgang besucht werden.

Zum 360-Grad-Rundgang

Ausgerechnet ein „Kaiserbaum“ soll auf Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer verweisen, als Helmut Schmidt 1978 die Tradition der Kanzlerbäume im Parkgelände des Palais Schaumburg einführt. Für sich selbst pflanzt Schmidt eine Trauerweide.

Tatsächlich passt er gut, der Kaiserbaum. Er steht in jedem der Gärten, die Adenauer wichtig sind. Und gerade diese Baumsorte, benannt nach der Tochter eines Zaren und Lieblingsgewächs des österreichischen Kaisers Franz Josef, verweist geradezu auf das Gebäude, das von 1949 bis 1977 Dienstsitz der deutschen Bundeskanzler ist: das „Palais Schaumburg“, das aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts stammt.

Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer sitzt an seinem Schreibtisch im Palais Schaumburg, 8. Februar 1960.

1858 gebaut von einem Tuchfabrikanten, zieht in die Villa 1894 Viktoria von Preußen, die kleine Schwester von Kaiser Wilhelm II. Sie ist mit Prinz Adolf zu Schaumburg-Lippe verheiratet. Höfischen Glanz bringt sie an den Rhein, auch der Kaiser ist mehrfach zu Besuch (er übernachtet im späteren Kabinettszimmer der Bundeskanzler). Und für Skandale sorgt Viktoria dazu: Als Witwe lässt sie sich auf die Ehe mit einem Hochstapler ein und verarmt. Das Deutsche Reich kauft das Gebäude, 1945 ziehen britische und belgische Besatzungssoldaten ein.

Nach Gründung der Bundesrepublik 1949 bekommt das Palais eine neue Funktion: Konrad Adenauer, im September zum ersten Bundeskanzler gewählt, will die provisorisch eingerichteten Kanzleramtszimmer im Zoologischen Museum Alexander Koenig möglichst schnell verlassen.

Arbeitszimmer mit Schreibtisch und Holzmobiliar, darauf Akten, roter Webteppich und große Erkerfenster.
Das wieder eingerichtete Arbeitszimmer von Konrad Adenauer präsentiert Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl 1983 der Presse. Das Foto zeigt es im Jahr 2005.

Er macht sich bereits im Oktober für einen Auszug der Belgier aus dem Palais stark und zieht am 23. November ein.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt arbeiten im Palais Schaumburg Handwerker. Die ersten Schreiben zwischen Adenauer und seinem Architekten Hans Schwippert klingen noch freundlich: „Sehr geehrter Herr Professor“, schreibt Adenauer am 2. Dezember 1949, „ich möchte Sie bitten, die Umbauarbeiten in der Villa Schaumburg mit größt möglicher Beschleunigung durchzuführen. Die Räumlichkeiten reichen für den Dienstbetrieb keineswegs aus.“

Aber der Ton verschärft sich. Nicht nur erscheinen Adenauer bald die weißen Wände zu hell, die Stühle zu grün, der Schreibtisch zu niedrig und die Badewanne zu klein. Dazu diese moderne neue Treppe – und ein neues Vordach, das einer Tankstelle gleicht! Schwippert versucht offenbar auch, die von Adenauer beschafften antiquarischen Möbel loszuwerden. Zumindest bei der Inneneinrichtung ist es am Ende Adenauer, der sich durchsetzt.

In seinen Amtsjahren macht er im Palais Schaumburg auch von den dortigen Rückzugsmöglichkeiten Gebrauch: von den Privaträumen, in die er sich zur Mittagsruhe zurückzieht (und für die er eine kleine Miete zahlt), vom Park, durch den er mit Beratern wie Staatssekretär Hans Globke flaniert, von der Möglichkeit, abends in wenigen Minuten sein Wohnhaus in Rhöndorf zu erreichen – per Dienst-Mercedes und Rheinfähre.

Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer (r.) begrüßt den französischen Präsidenten Charles de Gaulle am 4. Juli 1963 im Palais Schaumburg. Schon zwei Jahre zuvor spricht Adenauer davon, dass er eine Aussöhnung zwischen Deutschland und Frankreich für möglich hält.

Im Palais Schaumburg wird es über die Jahre der Kanzlerschaften von Adenauer, Erhard, Kiesinger, Brandt und Schmidt immer enger. Das können auch zwei Erweiterungen nicht ausgleichen. Erst 1969 wird ein Neubau auf den Flächen zwischen Palais und Bundeshaus in Auftrag gegeben, der 1976 bezugsfähig ist.

Aber die Enge macht auch den Charme des Palais Schaumburg aus. „Das Palais Schaumburg war mir immer sympathisch: auch wegen seiner Unvollkommenheiten“, schreibt Klaus Harpprecht, der im Turmstübchen des Palais Schaumburg die Reden für Willy Brandt formuliert: „Heitere Mischung von Biedermeier und viktorianischen Elementen, etwas bizarr, liebenswürdig wie so vieles, das nicht stilrein ist. [...] Knarrende Dielen unter den Teppichen. Ein bißchen Weißes Haus. Eine glückliche Wahl des Alten.“

Wussten Sie schon ...

… dass das Palais Schaumburg auch nach Einweihung des neuen Kanzleramts 1977 weiter genutzt wurde? Helmut Kohl unterzeichnet hier manche Verträge. Und Gerhard Schröder wohnt 1998 sogar für viele Monate dort. Noch heute ist es zweiter Dienstsitz der Bundeskanzler.